Blackhawks’ Andrew Shaw Headed A Puck Into The Net, Created An Awesome Hockey-Soccer Hybrid Sport


Andrew Shaw used his head — both figuratively and literally — last night by knocking in a floating puck with his noggin. Thanks to existing and archaic rules, this spectacular goal was disallowed.

The Chicago Blackhawks would go on to defeat the Anaheim Ducks in triple overtime without the tally, so very little was lost. And, oh so much was gained.

Imagine the possibilities of a soccer-hockey merger. Dudes out there sans helmets trying to steer fast-moving pucks goalward. Skates on grass. What could go wrong?

And hey, maybe Luis Suarez could lose a few of those dangerous teeth in the process.