- Colorado State’s Steve Addazio made history on Saturday.
- It made him only the second head coach in FBS history to get ejected twice in his career.
- Click HERE for more college football coverage!
There is a very legitimate possibility that Steve Addazio’s final moment at Colorado State was being ejected. The 62-year-old coach made history on Saturday night after getting tossed in the first half.
Addazio, who signed a “term sheet” for $1.5 million in 2020, is 4-11 in his first two years as the head coach. He has a 61-66 career record with his best season coming at Temple in 2011— 10 years ago.
During Saturday’s game against Nevada, Addazio was ejected late in the second quarter.
The second-year coach was flagged for two unsportsmanlike penalties in just a matter of minutes. In college football, two unsportsmanlike penalties results in an automatic ejection.
Colorado State head coach Steve Addazio ejected while the Rams are down 31-0 at home to Nevada in the second quarter. pic.twitter.com/F1MB3Sgzp0
— The Comeback (@thecomeback) November 28, 2021
Addazio has been thrown out twice in his career. Both times came after two unsportsmanlike conduct penalties.
His removal from the game on Saturday also made history. He became only the second coach to get ejected twice in such a manner.
It’s a tradition.
Steve Addazio is the second FBS coach to be ejected under the new 2-strikes-and-you're out rule this season. The first was Bowling Green's Scot Loeffler.
Loeffler is in Daz's coaching tree, most recently having worked under Daz at BC ('16-18).#CSURams #ProudToBe #NCAA
— Sean Keeler (@SeanKeeler) November 28, 2021
To make things even funnier, it happened with just under five minutes left in the first half— while down by 28.
so Steve Addazio just got EJECTED in the FIRST HALF pic.twitter.com/ZCNB3poi6b
— The Transfer Portal CFB (@TPortalCFB) November 28, 2021
Addazio’s warranted his first unsportsmanlike penalty after a big pass was called back for having an ineligible man downfield. An objective call.
The second penalty came during a commercial break following a turnover.
Colorado State’s quarterback proceeded to fumble and lose possession. Also an objective call.
With Adazzio’s price tag, he could presumably get another year. However, Saturday’s incident could foreseeably be the final straw.