
Illinois defeated North Texas by a comfortable margin during the non-conference women’s college basketball game in Champaign on Sunday night despite a bizarre shot clock violation during the fourth quarter. Head coach Shauna Green was baffled by the strange sequence of events.
She and the Illini were fortunate that it did not have an impact on the outcome.
This is a rather unusual college basketball scenario that does not have a set precedent for how it should be handled. The officials didn’t necessarily do anything right but they didn’t do anything wrong.
Illinois was called for a shot clock violation.
This whole thing went down late in the fourth quarter. The Illini had possession on offense with approximately two minutes left in the game. They were already up by 17 points.
Even though the shot clock did not hit zero, the officials called a shot clock violation.
North Texas got the ball off of the turnover. The Mean Green hit a three-pointer just moments later.
How is that possible? Great question. Illinois head coach Shauna Green would like to know.
By her account of what happened, the shot clock did not start when it was supposed to. She noticed the shot clock did not start but she did not say anything to her players or the officials. Play on. And then the officials suddenly stopped the game to call her team for a violation.
Shauna Green does not understand why.
According to Green, the officials went to the scorer’s table for a video review. They saw that enough time had come off of the game clock to call the Illini for a shot clock violation so they did.
Illinois was forced to forfeit its possession even though the shot clock never started. It was enforced only from the time that came off of the game clock. North Texas got the ball and made a three.
"That was crazy. I've never seen anything like that in my 20 some years of coaching."
— Glenn Kinley (@glenn_kinley) December 14, 2025
Bizarre situation here in the fourth quarter of Illinois vs North Texas. Sounds like, from #Illini head coach Shauna Green's perspective, the shot clock did not start – but after reviewing and… pic.twitter.com/WoxRpXP4Qo
The protocol for this specific situation are murky.
If the shot clock does not start when it is supposed to start, the officials have the authority to correct it. They are allowed to stop play and reset the clock to the correct time. That obviously did not happen here. The referees called a shot clock violation based on the game clock.
Even if the shot clock does not work, the rule to limit possession time always exists.