Kentucky High School Basketball Rules Controversy Proves Officials Made The Correct Ruling

Kentucky High School Basketball Rules Controversy Ashland Henry Clay
My Town TV

Henry Clay defeated Ashland during an electric high school basketball game in Kentucky on Sunday. However, the final play of the fourth quarter was subject to scrutiny.

The incredulity was misinformed.

The high school basketball officials did not miss a rules violation on a BLOB sequence. They were correct to let the ball be inbounded. They were correct to call a foul on the subsequent possession.

Henry Clay beat Ashland by two.

The 70th annual Ashland Invitational Tournament got underway at the James A. Anderson Gymnasium over the weekend. It is Kentucky’s oldest tradition in high school basketball.

Many of the top teams in the region come together for holiday hoops. This year’s tournament featured Ashland, Hopkinsville, Lawrence County, St. Mary, Cooper, Henry Clay, Simon Kenton and Jeffersontown.

The Tomcats of Ashland Paul Blazer High School met the Blue Devils of Henry Clay High School in the second round of the AIT on Sunday night. The former got to play in their home gym while the latter traveled 120 miles from Lexington.

It was the visiting team that ultimately prevailed. Henry Clay defeated Ashland Paul Blazer by a final score of 66-64. The Tomcats advanced to the semifinals on Monday. The Blue Devils will play for third place.

Kentucky high school basketball officials did NOT blow the game.

Ashland hit a deep triple with three seconds left on the clock to get within one point of Henry Clay at 65-64. The controversy (that isn’t controversial) took place on the next play.

A timeout by the Tomcats allowed the Blue Devils to think through their next inbounds play. They went with a pretty standard baseline roll and got the ball in without an issue. A foul sent them to the foul line.

The broadcast crew could not comprehend why Henry Clay was not called for a turnover. The player who inbounded the ball bounced the ball off of the floor (dribbled) before he passed the ball into the court.

Ashland was equally as upset. They argued for a turnover on the baseline before the inbounds foul call. Officials did not award them with possession. The visitors knocked down a free throw to win.

Kentucky high school basketball officials made the correct decision not to call a turnover. They got it right per the NFHS Case Book. Section 9.2.2 SITUATION D under ‘Throw-In Violations’ reads as follows:

“A1 bounces the ball on the floor on the out-of-bounds area before making a throw-in. RULING: Legal, a player may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in.”

The Blue Devils’ player very clearly bounced the ball on the out-of-bounds side of the baseline before he passed the ball into his teammate. His singular dribble was completely legal.

Grayson Weir BroBible editor avatar
Senior Editor at BroBible covering all five major sports and every niche sport imaginable, found primarily in the college space. I don't drink coffee, I wake up jacked.
Want more news like this? Add BroBible as a preferred source on Google!
Preferred sources are prioritized in Top Stories, ensuring you never miss any of our editorial team's hard work.
Google News Add as preferred source on Google