
Michigan narrowly escaped with a win during Sunday’s college basketball game against Northwestern and star center Vlad Goldin was once again the primary catalyst. However, the Wildcats were without leading scorer Jalen Leach for most of the overtime period after a controversial ejection.
His head coach believes the opposing big man sold a kick to the groin with an acting job worthy of an Academy Award.
Let’s jump ahead to the second half when Northwestern led Michigan 54-51 with nine minutes and 33 seconds remaining. Goldin set a hard screen on Leach at the top of the key, which knocked him off-balance. As he tried to regain his footing, Leach’s left leg swung up and caught Goldin in the gonads.
Big Ten officials issued a Flagrant 2 after reviewing the play. A Flagrant 2 results in an automatic ejection.
Jalen Leach ejected for a flagrant two here pic.twitter.com/TulgZcHKtH
— ᗩᑎT ᗯᖇIGᕼT (@itsAntWright) January 19, 2025
Big Ten head of officials Terry Wymer explained the call after the game. Although Leach did not mean to kick Goldin where the sun does not shine, it does not matter.
By rule, if a player gets hit in the private area it’s an automatic F2 and ejection for the opponent who hit the player. You can’t officiate intent.
— Terry Wymer
The fifth-year senior led the Wildcats with 21 points at the time of his ejection. They played without their leading scorer for the rest of the second half and overtime, which was obviously a huge loss.
Speaking of losses, Northwestern ultimately lost by four. Head coach Chris Collins was furious with the decision to issue a Flagrant 2 and expressed his frustrations after the game.
Look, if it’s malicious, and a kid is going for that area with a knee or fist, then absolutely. But I think the people that make the rules [don’t realize] Vlad Goldin is 7-foot-1, 275 pounds, setting a moving screen and Jalen is trying to get over.
— Chris Collins
He continued on to praise Goldin as a player, but mostly as an actor. Yes, an actor. Collins does not believe Leach’s swinging leg hurt the seven-footer as much as he led on.
I’ll give him credit. If he doesn’t make the NBA, he’ll have an incredible acting career going forward. That’s a great actor […] I mean that as a compliment, too.
— Chris Collins
At the end of the day, the rules are the rules. However, Jalen Leach was not trying to kick Vlad Goldin in the nuts. It was an accident and the latter sold the foul. Perhaps it would be a good idea for the NCAA to reconsider its ruling on Flagrant 2 fouls to include a clause for intent?