Lionel Messi Wasted No Time Getting On The Scoresheet At The World Cup

Lionel Messi Wasted No Time Getting On The Scoresheet At The World Cup

Getty Image / James Williamson

There’s so much you can say about Barcelona legend, current PSG talisman, and Argentinian legend Lionel Messi. The diminutive forward is regarded as quite possibly the greatest player in the history of soccer.  He’s won everything there is to win in a career, except the thing that matters the most: the World Cup.

This year’s edition in Qatar will be his last chance to win a World Cup, as the 35-year-old is approaching the twilight of his career.  If he wins the tournament for Argentina, it will be hard to say he isn’t the greatest of all-time.

And, it didn’t take him long to make an impact, as he found himself on the scoresheet less than ten minutes into the sky blue and white’s first opener against Saudi Arabia Tuesday morning.

Lionel Messi scored a penalty in the first 10 minutes of the match

After the Argentinians got off to a frisky start. Messi was looking active and likely to score.

Then, they drew a penalty off of this play. There appeared to be multiple fouls in the box.

For those unfamiliar, any player on the field can take a penalty in soccer, not just the player that was fouled. Naturally, manager Lionel Scaloni went to his talisman. Messi delivered in the 10th minute with a classy penalty.

Here’s another angle.

Classy penalty by Messi there, who sent the keeper the wrong way with his hips. And, the world’s second-most followed person on Instagram, behind Cristiano Ronaldo,

The fans lost their minds at Lusail Stadium in Qatar as they watched Messi score.

He almost scored soon after. But, he was ruled to be offside.

The goal was Messi’s 6th World Cup Goal. The record for most career goals at the World Cup is an astonishing 16 by Germany’s Miroslav Klose. This is Lionel Messi’s fourth World Cup.

As it stands, it won’t be hard to imagine the PSG man scoring a few more in this match.