Cristiano Ronaldo Is Being Called A Flopper After World Cup Goal

Cristiano Ronaldo Is Being Called A Flopper After World Cup Goal

Getty Image / Visionhaus

Cristiano Ronaldo has been in the news for all the wrong reasons lately. The embattled Manchester United forward was released by the club this week amid his criticism of the club and manager Eric Ten Hag.

But, the striker had to move on, as he is leading Portugal into the 2022 FIFA World Cup for the fifth time in his career. In their opening match on Friday against Ghana, he was looking to make history and be the first to score in five World Cups. He got it done, but not without controversy.

Cristiano Ronaldo drew a controversial penalty and scored in

Ronaldo looked to have scored in the first half on this play, only for the goal to be ruled out for a foul.

But, that call may have helped Cristiano Ronaldo score later. He drew a penalty on a ticky-tack call. Some think it was a flop, though.

Ronaldo scored the penalty, as he almost always does.

He used his trademark celebration, too. But, later on, Ghanaian goalscorer Osman Bukari also hit the celebration.

Twitter debates if Ronaldo deserved the penalty

There were lots of takes on whether it was a deserved penalty.

This popular account thinks it was not a deserved penalty, and that it was a flop by CR7.

Many more agree.

But, when you compare it to the goal Cristiano Ronaldo scored earlier that was ruled out due to a soft foul, I think it’s a penalty.

Portugal won 3-2.