Marvel Announces Phase 4 Slate With Mind-Blowing Presentation At Comic-Con

Marvel Studios

After keeping their Phase 4 plans under wraps in recent years, Marvel Studios took over Hall H at San Diego Comic-Con to finally announce what fans can expect in the upcoming years.

Warning: spoilers for the Marvel Cinematic Universe will follow.


Following the conclusion of Phase 3 with Avengers: Endgame and Spider-Man: Far From Home, the Marvel Cinematic Universe finds itself at something of a new beginning as it moves on from elder statesmen such as Iron Man and Captain America.

Marvel Studios kicked off the panel at 8:15 p.m. EST and began with a sizzle reel montage of clips from “The Infinity Saga”, which consumed the first decade of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, before diving into Phase 4.

Captain Marvel 2, Black Panther 2, Guardians of the Galaxy 3

Sequels to Captain Marvel, Black Panther, and Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 are in development.


A Marvel Studios version of X-Men is already in development.


A new Blade film, starring Mahershala Ali, has been confirmed.

Fantastic Four

A new Fantastic Four film has been confirmed and is in development.

Black Widow – May 2020

Black Widow, which will explore Natasha Romanoff’s past, will be released in May of 2020.

Black Widow will take place after the events of Captain America: Civil War and will tell the story of Budapest that’s been frequently referenced by her and Hawkeye.

It will star Scarlett Johansson, David Harbour, Rachel Weisz, and Florence Pugh.

Taskmaster will be the main villain.

Thor: Love and Thunder – November 2021

The fourth film in the Thor franchise — Thor: Love and Thunder — will hit theaters in November of 2021.

Chris Hemsworth, Tessa Thompson, and Natalie Portman will be reprising their roles in the film, which will be based on Jason Aaron’s Mighty Thor arc. Portman will be the female Thor.

Hawkeye – Fall 2021

A series featuring Jeremy Renner’s Hawkeye will be on Disney+ in the Fall of 2021.

WHAT IF…? – Summer 2021

Disney+ series WHAT IF…? will be released in Summer 2021. Westworld star Jeffrey Wright will be voicing The Watcher in WHAT IF…?.

Doctor Strange: In the Multiverse of Madness– May 7, 2021

Doctor Strange: In the Multiverse of Madness will hit theaters on May 7, 2021. Scarlet Witch will appear in the film, as the movie will tie into WandaVision.

Kevin Feige says it will be the first “scary” film in the MCU.

Loki – Spring 2021

The Disney+ series Loki will be released Spring 2021.

The series will pick up after Loki steals the Space Stone in Avengers: Endgame.

WandaVision -Spring 2021

The Disney+ series WandaVision will be released Spring 2021.

Paul Bettany And Elizabeth Olsen will be reprising their roles in the series, which will take place after the events of Avengers: Endgame.

Tiana Paris has been cast as Monica Rambeau.

Shang-Chi: And the Legend of the Ten Rings

Shang-Chi: And the Legend of the Ten Rings will be released on February 12, 2021. Shang-Chi will be played by Simu Liu.

The Mandarin, who was teased in Iron Man 3, will appear in Shang-Chi and will be played by Tony Leung. Awkwafina has also been cast.

The Falcon and The Winter Solider – Fall 2020

The Disney+ series The Falcon and The Winter Soldier will be released Fall 2020.

Daniel Bruhl (Captain America: Civil War) is confirmed to reprise his role as Zemo. Clips shown reveal he will be in full costume this time

Eternals – November 2020

The first announcement was regarding Eternals, which will be released in theaters in November of 2020.

Game of Thrones star Richard Madden has been cast as Ikaris and Angelina Jolie will be playing Thena.

Kumail Nanjiani, Lauren Ridloff, Brian Tyree Henry, Salma Hayek, Lia McHugh, and Don Lee will also star.

This story is developing LIVE. Please refresh for updates.