Here Is A State-By-State Breakdown Of Every Weed Law And Penalty That You Need To Know


marijuana-flag3

Colorado, Oregon, Alaska, and Washington are the only four states in America where the use of cannabis, better known as marijuana, is legal to use, sell, transport, grow, and own. Our nation’s capital, Washington D.C., has also legalized marijuana becoming the first time in American history that a sitting President can legally smoke a bowl of marijuana during the State of the Union Address. (It’s not likely to ever happen but you get the idea.)

What about the other 46 states? When will they be changing their laws to legalize marijuana?

In 2016, a few more states should be legalizing pot but since this is one of those sensitive topics of discussion, there are no surefire picks. Of the remaining 46 states, only 10 to 15 of them are close enough to consider them a probability for legalization in 2016. Nevada is the only state with the topic on the ballot, officially, for 2016 already.

If you are in one of the states where pot is legal, you have mostly nothing to worry about.

But for the rest of the country, the laws and legality behind marijuana can be a bit confusing. So much, in fact, that we have put together this list of every state’s laws and where they stand in the legalization process. It could be simple policy proposals to full fledge campaigns to get this topic on their state’s ballot this upcoming November. Here is a state-by-state breakdown of the weed laws by state.


 

States with Legalized Cannabis Still have Laws

Alaska

Alaska

  • Possession
    • 1 oz or less: Legal
    • 1 – 4 oz in your residence: Legal
    • 1 – less than 4 oz: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $10,000
    • 4 oz or more: Felony, 5 years, $50,000
    • Any amount within 500 ft of school grounds or recreation center: Felony, 5 years,$50,000
    • Public Consumption: Violation, $100
    • Less than 1 oz (w/ Intent to distribute): Misdemeanor, 1 year, $10,000
    • 1 oz or more (w/ Intent to distribute): Felony, 5 years, $50,000
  • Sale
    • Less than 1 oz: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $10,000
    • 1 oz or more: Felony, 5 years, $50,000
    • To a person under 19 who is 3 years or more younger than the seller: Felony, 10 years, $100,000
  • Cultivation
    • Up to 6 plants (No more than 3 mature): Legal
    • 6 – 25 plants in your residence: Legal
    • 25 plants or more: Felony, 5 years, $1,000
    • To a person under 19 who is 3 years or more younger than the seller: Felony, 10 years, $100,000

Colorado

Colorado

  • Possession
    • 1 oz or less: Legal
    • Transfer of 1 oz or less for no remuneration: Legal
    • More than 1 – 2 oz: Petty Offense, $100
    • Open and Public displays or uses of 2 oz or less: Petty Offense, $100
    • More than 2 – 6 oz: Misdemeanor,  0 – 12 months, $700
    • More than 6 – 12 oz: Misdemeanor, 6 – 18 months, $5,000
    • More than 12 oz: Felony, 1 – 2 years, $100,000
  • Sale
    • 4 oz or less: Misdemeanor, 6 – 18 months, $5,000
    • More than 4 – 12 oz: Felony, 6 months – 2 years, $100,000
    • More than 12 oz – 5 lbs: Felony, 2 – 6 years, $500,000
    • More than 5 – 50 lbs: Felony, 4 – 16 years, $750,000
    • More than 50 lbs: Felony, 8 – 32 years, $1,000,000
  • Cultivation
    • 6 plants or fewer (21 years or older): Legal
    • 6 – 30 plants: Felony, 6 months – 2 years, $100,000
    • More than 30 plants: Felony, 2 – 6 years, $500,000

Oregon

Oregon

  • Must be 21 years of age or older
  • 8 oz or less in your residence: Legal
  • 1 oz or less: Legal anywhere in the state
  • Up to 4 plants per residence, out of public view: Legal
  • Public Use of marijuana remains illegal
  • You can make edible products and receive them as gifts with marijuana cooked into them and then consume them in private places or residences.

Washington

Washington

  • Possession
    • 1 oz or less (Private consumption): Legal
    • 1 oz or less (Public consumption): Civil Penalty, $100
    • 1 oz – 40 g: Misdemeanor, 24 hours* – 90 days, $1,000
    • More than 40 g: Felony, 5 years, $10,000
  • Sale
    • Any amount: Felony, 5 years, $10,000
    • To a minor at least 3 years younger: Felony, 10 years, $10,000
  • Cultivation
    • Any amount: Felony, 5 years, $10,000
  • Other Laws

Washington D.C. (Federal District, not a State)

Washington DC

  • Possession
    • 2 oz or less (21 years or younger): Legal
    • 6 plants or less: Legal
    • More than 2 oz: Misdemeanor, 6 months, $1,000
  • Sale, Distribution, Intent to Distribute, Cultivation
    • 1/2 lb or less (1st Offense): 6 months, $1,000
    • Subsequent Offense: 2 years, $5,000
    • Any amount: 5 years, $50,000


The Rest of the Country

Alabama 

Alabama

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • 1st-Offense: Misdemeanor, Up to 1 year, Up to $6,000
    • After that: Felony, Up to 10 years (1 year and 1 day*), Up to $15,000
  • Sale
    • Any Amount: Felony, 2*-20 years, Up to $30,000
    • Person Over 18 to minor: Felony, 10 years to Life, Up to $60,000
    • Within 3 mile radius of a school or public housing project: Felony, 5 years
  • Trafficking
    • 2.2 lbs – 100 lbs: Felony, 3 years*, $25,000
    • 100lbs – 500 lbs: Felony, 5 years*, $50,000
    • 500 lbs – 1,000 lbs: Felony, 15 years*, $200,000
  • Growing
    • Manufacture 2nd Degree: Felony, 2*-20 years,  $30,000
    • Manufacture 1st Degree: Felony, 10 years to Life, $60,000
  • Other Laws
    • Marijuana conviction will also result in a 6 month driver’s license suspension

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • Policy Proposals (2)
    • Rep. Mike Ball’s HB 61
    • Sen.Paul Bussman’s SB 347 and Rep. Ken Johnson’s HB393

Medical Marijuana: Yes


 

Arizona

Arizona

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • Less than 2 lbs: Felony, 4 Months – 2 years, $150,000
    • 2-4 lbs: Felony, 6 Months – 2.5 years, $150,000
    • 4 lbs or more: Felony, 1 – 3.75 years, $150,000
  • Sale
    • Less than 2 lbs: Felony, 1 – 3.75 years, $150,000
    • 2-4 lbs: Felony, 2 – 8.75 years, $150,000
    • 4 lbs or more: Felony, 3 – 12.5 years, $150,000
  • Transportation
    • Less than 2 lbs: Felony, 2 – 8.75 years, $150,000
    • 2 lbs or more: Felony, 3 – 12.5 years, $150,000
  • Growing
    • Less than 2 lbs: Felony, 6 months – 2.5 years, $150,000
    • 2-4 lbs: Felony, 1 – 3.75 years, $150,000
    • More than 4 lbs: Felony, 2 – 8.75 years, $150,000
  • Other Laws
    • Employing a minor in the commission of a drug offense, being convicted of a prior felony, or committing a drug offense in a school zone, lead to an increased sentence.

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • Arizona Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act (Regulate Marijuana Like Alcohol)
    • As of January, the campaign has over 125,000 signatures collected. (230,000 required to be added to the ballot in November)
  • Legalization and Regulation of Marijuana Act

Medical Marijuana: Yes (2.5 oz usable, 12 plants)


 

Arkansas

Arkansas

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • Less than 4 oz (1st-offense): Misdemeanor, Up to 1 year, $2,500
    • Less than 4 oz (subsequent offense): Felony, Up to 6 years, $10,000
    • 4 oz – 10 lbs: Felony, Up to 6 years, $10,000
    • 10 – 25 lbs: Felony, 3* – 10 years, $10,000
    • 25 – 100 lbs: Felony, 5* – 20 years, $15,000
    • 100 – 500 lbs: Felony, 6* – 30 years, $15,000
  • Delivery (Cultivation falls under Delivery)
    • 14 g or less: Misdemeanor, Up to 1 year, $2,500
    • 14 g – 4 oz: Felony, Up to 6 years, $10,000
    • 4 oz – 25 lbs: Felony, 3* – 10 years, $10,000
    • 25 – 100 lbs: Felony, 5* – 20 years, $15,000
    • 100 – 500 lbs: Felony, 6* – 30 years, $15,000
  • Transportation
    • 500 lbs or more: Felony, 10* – 40 years, $15,000
  • Other Laws
    • Second offense convictions will result in penalties being doubled.
    • Delivering cannabis to a minor at least 3 years younger than the deliverer will result in a doubled penalty

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • The 2016 Arkansas Medical Cannabis Act (To Succeed, they will need 100,000 signatures prior to July 8th, 2016)

Medical Marijuana: No


 

California

California

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • 28.5 grams or less: Infraction, No Jail Time, $100
    • 28.5 grams or less, over 18 years, and occurred on school grounds: Misdemeanor, 10 days, $500
    • 28.5 grams or less, under 18 years: Misdemeanor, 10 days*, $250
    • 28.5 grams or more: Misdemeanor, 6 months, $500
    • With intent to distribute (any amount): Felony, 16 months – 3 years
  • Sale or Delivery
    • Any amount: Felony, 2-4 years
    • Gift of 28.5 grams or less: Misdemeanor, $100
    • Over 18 years to an individual 14-17 years: Felony, 3 – 5 years
    • Over 18 years to an individual under 14 years: Felony, 3 – 7 years
  • Growing
    • Any amount: Felony, 16 months – 3 years
  • Other Laws
    • Using a minor in the unlawful sale or transport of marijuana: Felony, 3 – 7 years
    • Introducing a minor to marijuana use: Felony, 3 – 7 years
    • A person involved in illegal marketing of marijuana is liable for civil damages

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • Control, Regulate and Tax Adult Use of Marijuana Initiative – It will be on the November 8, 2016 ballot. (This will legalize marijuana in California)

Medical Marijuana: Yes (8 oz usable, 6 mature or 12 immature plants)


 

Connecticut

Connecticut

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • Less than 1/2 oz (1st offense): Civil Penalty, $150
    • Less than 1/2 oz (subsequent): Civil Penalty, $500
    • 1/2 – less than 4 oz (1st): Misdemeanor, 1 year, $1,000
    • 1/2 – less than 4 oz (subsequent): Felony, 5 years, $3,000
    • 4 oz or more (1st): Felony, 5 years, $2,000
    • 4 oz or more (subsequent): Felony, 10 years, $5,000
  • Sale & Cultivation
    • Less than 1 kg (1st offense): Felony, 7 years, $25,000
    • Less than 1 kg (subsequent): Felony, 15 years, $100,000
    • 1 kg or more (1st offense): Felony, 5* to 20 years, $25,000
    • 1 kg or more (subsequent): Felony, 10* to 25 years, $100,000
  • Other Laws
    • Within 1,500 ft of elementary or middle school, public housing project, or daycare center: Additional 3 years imprisonment
    • Over 18 selling to minor under 18: Additional 2 years imprisonment

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • HB 5236 – This bill would legalize the sale and consumption of marijuana for adults. (It is a step in the right direction, but many believe it will fail to reach the ballot.)

Medical Marijuana: Yes (2.5 oz usable)



Delaware

Delaware

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession (Fines determined at court)
    • Less than 175 g: Misdemeanor, 3 months, $575
    • 175 – less than 1500 g: Felony, 3 years
    • 1500 – less than 3000 g: Felony, 5 years
    • 3000 – less than 4000 g: Felony, 8 years
    • 4000 – less than 5000 g: Felony, 15 years
    • 5000 g or more: Felony, 2* to 25 years
  • Sale, Distribution, Growing (Fines determined at court)
    • Less than 1500 g: Felony, 8 years
    • 1500 – less than 4000 g: Felony, 15 years
    • 4000 g or more: Felony, 2* to 25 years
  • Other Laws
    • First time offenders face a possible probation instead of being sent to prison or fined.

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • HB 39 – Passed (Dec, 2015) 
    • Allows users to posses up to one ounce of marijuana only a civil violation punishable by a $100 fine without jail

Medical Marijuana: Yes (6 oz usable)


 

Florida

Florida

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • 20 g or less: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $1,000
    • More than 20 g – 25 lbs: Felony, 5 years, $5,000
    • More than 25 – less than 2000 lbs: Felony, 3* – 15 years, $25,000
    • 2000 – less than 10,000 lbs: Felony, 7* – 30 years, $50,000
    • 10,000 lbs or more: Felony, 15* – 30 years, $200,000
    • Less than 25 plants: Felony, 5 years, $5,000
    • 25 – 300 plants: Felony, 15 years, $10,000
    • 300 – 2000 plants: Felony, 3* – 15 years, $25,000
    • 2000 – 10,000 plants: Felony, 7* – 30 years, $50,000
    • Within 1000 feet of a school, college, or park: Felony, 15 years, $10,000
  • Sale
    • 20 g or less without remuneration: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $1,000
    • 25 lbs or less: Felony, 5 years, $5,000
    • More than 25 – less than 2000 lbs: Felony, 3* – 15 years, $25,000
    • 2000 – less than 10,000 lbs: Felony, 7* – 30 years, $50,000
    • 10,000 lbs or more: Felony, 15* – 30 years, $200,000

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • Article X, Section 29 (Amendment): People United for Medical Marijuana collected 716,270 signatures to put this proposal on the 2016 ballot. (Only needed 683,149)

Medical Marijuana: No (However, Medical CBD is legal)


 

Georgia

Georgia

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession (Personal Use)
    • 1 oz or less: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $1,000
    • More than 1 oz: Felony, 1* – 10 years, $5,000
  • Possession (With Intent to Distribute)
    • 10 lbs or less: Felony, 1* – 10 years, $5,000
    • 10 – 2000 lbs: Felony, 5* – 30 years, $100,000
    • 2000 – 10,000 lbs: Felony, 7* – 30 years, $250,000
    • More than 10,000 lbs: Felony, 15* – 30 years, $1,000,000
    • Within 1000 feet of school grounds, park, drug free zone, or housing project: Felony, 5* – 40 years, $40,000
  • Sale/Delivery/Cultivation
    • 10 lbs or less: Felony, 1* – 10 years, $5,000
    • 10 – 2000 lbs: Felony, 5* – 30 years, $100,000
    • 2000 – 10,000 lbs: Felony, 7* – 30 years, $250,000
    • More than 10,000 lbs: Felony, 15* – 30 years, $1,000,000
    • Within 1000 feet of school grounds, park, drug free zone, or housing project: Felony, 5* – 40 years, $40,000
  • Other Laws
    • Abandoning marijuana in a public space: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $1,000
    • Involving a minor: Felony, 5-20 years, $20,000
    • Distribution of marijuana flavored product: Misdemeanor, $500
    • Use of any Communications facility: Felony, 1-4 years, $30,000

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • HB 722: This bill is going to expand on the type of medical patients that are legally allowed to use cannabis for their conditions

Medical Marijuana: No (However, Medical CBD is legal)


 

Hawaii

Hawaii

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • Less than 1 oz: Misdemeanor, 30 days, $1,000
    • 1 oz – 1 lb: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $2,000
    • 1 lb or more: Felony, 5 years, $10,000
  • Sale/Transportation
    • Less than 1 oz: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $2,000
    • 1 oz – 1 lb: Felony, 5 years, $10,000
    • 1 – less than 5 lbs: Felony, 10 years, $25,000
    • 5 lbs or more: Felony, 20 years, $50,000
    • Within 750 ft of school grounds or a park, or within 10 ft of a parked school vehicle: Felony, 5 years, $10,000
  • Growing
    • 25 – 50 plants: Felony, 5 years, $10,000
    • 50 – less than 100 plants: Felony, 10 years, $25,000
    • 100 plants or more: Felony, 20 years, $50,000
    • Less than 25 plants on another’s property: Felony, 10 years, $25,000
    • 25 plants or more on another’s property: Felony, 20 years, $50,000
  • Other Laws
    • Promoting using a minor: Felony, 10 years, $25,000
    • Within school grounds, school vehicles, or a public park: Felony, 20 years, $50,000
    • Discovery of marijuana in a vehicle may result in each occupant being charged with possession.

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • SB 2581: Allows for recreational use of marijuana through committee as opposed to going on a ballot. It is still pending an assignment. Once it gets assigned, it will then have to get a majority vote before being sent to a Senate vote.

Medical Marijuana: Yes (4 oz usable, 7 plants)


 

Idaho

Idaho

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession (Personal Use)
    • 3 oz or less: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $1,000
    • 3 oz – less than 1 lb: Felony, 5 years, $10,000
  • Possession (With Intent to Distribute)
    • 1 – less than 5 lbs/25 – less than 50 plants: Felony, 1 year, $50,000
    • 5 – less than 25 lbs/50 – less than 100 plants: Felony, 3 years*, $50,000
    • 25 lbs or more/More than 100 plants: Felony, 5 years*, $50,000
    • In the presence of minor under 18: Felony, 5 years, $5,000
  • Sale, Delivery, Cultivation
    • 1 – less than 5 lbs/25 – less than 50 plants: Felony, 1 year*, $50,000
    • 5 – less than 25 lbs/50 – less than 100 plants: Felony, 3 years*, $50,000
    • 25 lbs or more/100 plants or more: Felony, 5 years*, $50,000
    • In the presence of minor under 18: Felony, 5 years, $5,000
  • Other Laws
    • Use or intoxication in public: Misdemeanor, 6 months, $1,000
    • Presence at location where marijuana is cultivated or stored: Misdemeanor, 3 months, $300
    • Maintaining a structure used for selling or storing marijuana: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $25,000

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannabis

  • No bills or legislation has been submitted towards legalizing cannabis.

Medical Marijuana: No


 

Illinois

Illinois

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • 2.5 g or less: Misdemeanor, 30 days, $1,500
    • 2.5 – 10 g: Misdemeanor, 6 months, $1,500
    • More than 10 – 30 g (1st offense): Misdemeanor, 1 year, $2,500
    • More than 10 – 30 g (Subsequent): Felony, 1* – 6 years, $25,000
    • More than 30 – 500 g (1st offense): Felony, 1* – 6 years, $25,000
    • More than 30 – 500 g (Subsequent): Felony, 2* – 10 years, $25,000
    • More than 500 – 2000 g: Felony, 2* – 10 years, $25,000
    • More than 2000 – 5000 g: Felony, 3* – 14 years, $25,000
    • More than 5000 g: Felony, 4* – 30 years, $25,000
  • Sale
    • 2.5 g or less: Misdemeanor, 6 months, $1,500
    • More than 2.5 – 10 g: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $2,500
    • More than 10 – 30 g: Felony, 1* – 6 years, $25,000
    • More than 30 – 500 g: Felony, 2* – 10 years, $50,000
    • More than 500 – 2000 g: Felony, 3* – 14 years, $100,000
    • More than 2000 – 5000 g: Felony, 4* – 30 years, $150,000
    • More than 5000 g: Felony, 6* – 60 years, $200,000
  • Growing
    • 5 plants or less: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $2,500
    • More than 5 – 20 plants: Felony, 1* – 6 plants, $25,000
    • More than 20 – 50 plants: Felony, 2* – 10 years, $25,000
    • More than 50 – 200 plants: Felony, 3* – 14 years, $100,000
    • More than 200 plants: Felony, 4* – 30 years, $100,000

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • HB 4276: It has been referred to the Rules Committee and must pass through them before it can receive a full vote and be approved.

Medical Marijuana: Yes (2.5 oz usable cannabis during a 14-day period)


 

Indiana

Indiana

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • Any amount: Misdemeanor, 180 days, $1,000
    • Less than 30 g and prior drug offense: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $5,000
    • 30 g or more and prior drug offense: Felony, 6 months – 2.5 years, $10,000
  • Sale/Growing
    • Less than 30 g: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $5,000
    • 30 g – less than 10 lbs: Felony, 6 months – 2.5 years, $10,000
    • 10 lbs or more: Felony, 1 – 6 years, $10,000
    • To a minor: Felony, 1 – 6 years, $10,000
  • Other Laws
    • Presence where knowledge of drug activity occurs: Misdemeanor, 6 months, $1,000
    • Possession, sale, or distribution conviction will result in a suspended driver’s license.

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • SB 209: This senate bill by Sen.Karen Tallian has been passed up a few times now. It would be the first step in the process by legalizing medical marijuana in the state but lawmakers have not allowed it a chance in session.
  • HB 1284: Another bill to help legalize medical marijuana in the state.

Medical Marijuana: No


 

Iowa

Iowa

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • Any amount (1st offense): Misdemeanor, 6 months, $1,000
    • Any amount (2nd offense): Misdemeanor, 1 year, $1,875
    • Any amount (3rd offense): Misdemeanor, 2 years, $6,250
  • Transportation/Cultivation
    • 50 kg or less: Felony, Up to 5 years, $7,500
    • 50 – 100 kg: Felony, Up to 10 years, $50,000
    • 100 – 1,000 kg: Felony, Up to 25 years, $100,000
    • 1,000 kg or more: Felony, Up to 50 years, $1,000,000
  • Other Laws
    • If a person over 18 solicits a person under 18 to assist in the distribution or cultivation of marijuana: Felony, Up to 10 years, $50,000
    • If a person over 18 distributes to a person under 18: Felony, 5* – 25 years, $100,000

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • HF 2384: A bill to help expand the existing medical marijuana laws in Iowa.

Medical Marijuana: No (However, Medical CBD is legal)



Kansas

Kansas

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • Less than 450 g: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $2,500
    • Any amount (Subsequent offense): Felony, 10 months* – 3.5 years, $100,000
    • 450 g or more: Felony, 10 months probation – 42 months, $100,000
  • Sale/Distribution
    • Less than 25 g: Felony, 14 months – 51 years, $300,000
    • 25 – less than 450 g: Felony, 46 – 83 months, $300,000
    • 450 g – less than 30 kg: Felony, 92 – 144 months, $500,000
    • 30 kg or more: Felony, 138 months – 204 months, $500,000
    • Within 1,000 feet of a school zone: Felony, 4* – 7 years, $300,000
  • Growing
    • More than 4 – less than 50 plants: Felony, 46 – 83 months, $300,000
    • 50 – less than 100 plants: Felony, 92 – 144 months, $500,000
    • 100 plants or more: Felony, 138 – 204 months, $500,000
  • Other Laws

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • HB 2691: This bill is for the legalization of medical marijuana, the first step in the process to legalize weed in the state. It must pass through the House committee on Health and Human Services before being sent off for a full vote in the House.

Medical Marijuana: No


 

Kentucky

Kentucky

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • Less than 8 oz: Misdemeanor, 45 days, $250
  • Sale/Transportation
    • Less than 8 oz (First offense): Misdemeanor, 1 year, $500
    • Less than 8 oz (Subsequent offense): Felony, 1 – 5 years, $10,000
    • 8 oz – 5 lbs (1st): Felony, 1-5 years, $10,000
    • 8 oz – 5 lbs (Subsequent): Felony, 5 – 10 years, $10,000
    • 5 lbs or more (1st): Felony, 5 – 10 years, $10,000
    • 5 lbs or more (Subsequent): Felony, 10 – 20 years, $10,000
    • To a minor (1st): Felony, 5 – 10 years, $10,000
    • To a minor (Subsequent): Felony, 10 – 20 years, $10,000
    • Within 1000 yards of a school or park: Felony, 1 – 5 years, $10,000
  • Growing
    • Less than 5 plants (1st): Misdemeanor, 1 year, $500
    • Less than 5 plants (Subsequent): Felony, 1 – 5 years, $10,000
    • 5 plants or more (1st): Felony, 1 – 5 years, $10,000
    • 5 plants or more (Subsequent): Felony, 5 – 10 years, $10,000

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • SB 263 & HB 584: Both bills are for legalizing medical marijuana by protecting qualifying patients from arrest and allow them to obtain marijuana from state-regulated dispensaries.
  • SB 13: Sen.Perry Clark introduced this bill for legalizing marijuana by ending the prohibition on it for adults and also creating a taxation system for it.

Medical Marijuana: No


 

Louisiana

Louisiana

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • 14 g or less (1st): 15 days, $300
    • More than 14 g – less than 2.5 lbs (1st): 6 months, $500
    • 2.5 – less than 60 lbs: 2* – 10 years, $30,000
    • 60 – less than 2,000 lbs: Felony, 5* – 30 years, $100,000
    • 2,000 – less than 10,000 lbs: Felony, 10* – 40 years, $400,000
    • 10,000 lbs or more: Felony, 25* – 40 years, $1,000,000
  • Sale/Growing
    • Any amount (1st): 5* – 30 years, $50,000
    • Any amount (Subsequent): 10* – 60 years, $100,000
    • To a minor (1st): 5* – 45 years, $100,000
    • To a minor (Subsequent): 10* – 90 years, $200,000

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • HB 1112: First step in legalizing medical marijuana by removing flaw in the system that has caused a lot of the other bills to fail. The flaw is that they all required a doctor’s prescription for a patient to legally posses the drug however, thanks to the Controlled Substances Act, a doctor cannot prescribe marijuana, he can only recommend it. HB 1112 will eliminate that gliche in the system.
  • Ordinance 31,148: Decriminalizing marijuana in New Orleans.

Medical Marijuana: No


 

Maine

Maine

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • 1.25 oz or less: Civil Violation, $600
    • More than 1.25 – 2.5 oz: Civil Violation, $1,000
    • More than 2.5 – 8 oz: Crime, 6 months, $1,000
    • More than 8 oz – 1 lb: Crime, 1 year, $2,000
    • More than 1 – 20 lb: Crime, 5 years, $5,000
    • More than 20 lbs: Crime, 10 years, $20,000
  • Sale/Distribution
    • 1 lb or less: Crime, 1 year, $2,000
    • More than 1 – less than 20 lbs: Crime, 5 years, $5,000
    • 20 lbs or more: Crime, 10 years, $20,000
    • To a minor or within 1000 ft of a school or bus: Crime, 5 years, $5,000
  • Growing
    • 5 plants or less: Crime, 6 months, $1,000
    • More than 5 – less than 100 plants: Crime, 1 year, $2,000
    • 100 – less than 500 plants: Crime, 5 years, $5,000
    • 500 plants or more: Crime, 10 years, $20,000
  • Other Laws

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • Marijuana Legalization Initiative: This is being proposed for the Maine ballot for the November 8, 2016 election. If it makes the ballot, and passes, Maine will then begin the process of legalizing marijuana.

Medical Marijuana: Yes (2.5 oz usable, 6 plants)



Maryland

Maryland

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • Less than 10 g: Civil Offense, $100
    • 10 g – less than 50 lbs: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $1,000
    • 50 lbs or more: Felony, 5 years*, $100,000
  • Sale
    • Less than 50 lbs: Felony, 5 years, $15,000
    • 50 lbs or more: Felony, 5 years*, $15,000
    • More than 50 lbs & Labled a Drug Kingpin: Felony, 20* – 40 years, $1,000,000
    • In a school vehicle, or in, on, or within 1000 ft of an elementary or secondary school: Felony, 20 years, $20,000
    • Subsequent violation: Felony, 5* – 40 years, $40,000
    • Involving a minor: Felony, 20 years, $20,000
  • Trafficking
    • More than 5 – less than 45 kg: Felony, 10 years, $10,000
    • 45 kg or more: Felony, 25 years, $50,000
    • In possession of a firearm while trafficking: Felony, 5* – 20 years

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • HB 1580: The lawmakers in Maryland have spoken and HB 1580 is going to permit the personal cultivation and retail sale of marijuana in the state. It is now waiting on the House Rules Committee to approve it before moving to the House Judiciary Committee.

Medical Marijuana: Yes (30-day supply amount TBD)


 

Massachusetts

Massachusetts

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • 1 oz or less: Civil Offense, $100
    • More than 1 oz (1st Offense): Misdemeanor, 6 months, $500
    • More than 1 oz (Subsequent): Misdemeanor, 2 years, $2,000
  • Sale/Distribution/Cultivation
    • Less than 50 lbs (1st): 0 – 2 years, $5,000
    • Less than 50 lbs (Subsequent): 1 – 2.5 years, $10,000
    • 50 – less than 100 lbs: Felony, 1* – 15 years, $10,000
    • 100 – less than 2000 lbs: Felony, 2* – 15 years, $25,000
    • 2000 – less than 10,000 lbs: Felony, 3.5* – 15 years, $50,000
    • 10,000 lbs or more: Felony, 8* – 15 years, $200,000
    • Within 300 ft of a school, or within 100 ft or a public park: Felony, 2* – 15 years, $10,000
    • Causing or inducing someone under 18 years to commit offenses: Felony, 5* – 15 years, $100,000

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • HB 1561: Also known as The Cannabis Regulation and Taxation Act of 2016, is going to legalize cannabis in the state for both personal use and retail sale. It also allows cultivation of plants inside your home. (Update: Gov.Charlie Baker has said he will oppose legalization.)
  • HB 3932: Ballot initiative to legalize marijuana in 2016. If legislators don’t approve it, this will be placed before voters in the November 2016 ballot. (Hearing was 3/7/16)

Medical Marijuana: Yes (10 oz, 60-day supply for personal medical use)


 

Michigan

Michigan

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • Any amount: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $2,000
    • In a park: Misdemeanor or Felony, 2 years, $2,000
    • Use of marijuana: Misdemeanor, 90 days, $100
  • Sale
    • Sale without remuneration: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $1,000
    • Less than 5 kg: Felony, 4 years, $20,000
    • 5 – less than 45 kg: Felony, 7 years, $500,000
    • 45 kg or more: Felony, 15 years, $10,000,000
  • Growing
    • Less than 20 plants: Felony, 4 years, $20,000
    • 20 – less than 200 plants: Felony, 7 years, $500,000
    • 200 plants or more: Felony, 15 years, $10,000,000
  • Other Laws
    • In Ann Arbor: $100 penalty

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • HB 4877 & SB 813: Both of these bills are for ending the prohibition of marijuana in the state thus legalizing the use of marijuana.

Medical Marijuana: Yes (2.5 oz usable, 12 plants)


 

Minnesota

Minnesota

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • 42.5 g or less: Misdemeanor, $200
    • More than 42.5 g – less than 10 kg: Felony, 5 years, $10,000
    • 10 – less than 50 kg: Felony, 20 years, $250,000
    • 50 – less than 100 kg: Felony, 25 years, $500,000
    • 100 kg or more: Felony, 30 years, $1,000,000
    • More than 1.4 g inside one’s vehicle (Not the trunk): Misdemeanor, 90 days, $1,000
  • Sale
    • 42.5 g or less without remuneration: Misdemeanor, $200
    • More than 42.5 g – less than 5 kg: Felony, 5 years, $10,000
    • 5 – less than 25 kg: Felony, 20 years, $250,000
    • 25 – less than 50 kg: Felony, 25 years, $500,000
    • 50 kg or more: Felony, 30 years, $1,000,000
    • Importing 100 kg or more using a minor: Felony, 35 years, $1,250,000
    • To a minor: Felony, 20 years, $250,000
    • Within school zone or other specified areas: Felony, 15 years, $100,000
    • 5 – less than 25 kg in a school zone: Felony, 25 years, $500,000
    • 25 kg or more in a school zone: Felony, 30 years, $1,000,000

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • As of now, nothing in the House or Senate that will legalize personal use of marijuana.

Medical Marijuana: Yes (30-day supply of non-smokable marijuana)


 

Mississippi

Mississippi

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • 30 g or less (1st Offense): $250
    • 30 g or less (2nd): 5* – 60 days, $250
    • 30 g or less (3rd): 5 days* – 6 months, $500
    • 30 – 250 g: Felony, 3 years, $3,000
    • 250 – 500 g: Felony, 2* – 8 years, $50,000
    • 500 g – 1 kg: Felony, 4* – 16 years, $250,000
    • 1 – 5 kg: Felony, 6* – 24 years, $500,000
    • 5 kg or more: Felony, 10* – 30 years, $1,000,000
    • In any part of vehicle besides trunk: Misdemeanor, 90 days, $1,000
  • Sale
    • Up to 30 g: Felony, 3 years, $3,000
    • 30 g – 1 kg: Felony, 5 years, $30,000
    • 1 kg – 10 lbs: Felony, 30 years, $1,000,000
    • More than 10 lbs: Felony, Life, $1,000,000

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • HB 1360 and SB 2358: Both were to legalize medical marijuana in the state and both died in committee.

Medical Marijuana: No (However, Medical CBD is legal)



Missouri

Missouri

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • Less than 35 g: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $1,000
    • 35 g – 30 kg: Felony, 1 year, $5,000
    • More than 30 – less than 100 kg: Felony, 5 – 15 years, $20,000
    • 100 kg or more: Felony, 10 years – Life, $20,000
  • Sale/Trafficking
    • Less than 5 g: Felony, 7 years, $5,000
    • 5 g – 30 kg: Felony, 5 – 15 years, $20,000
    • More than 30 – less than 100 kg: Felony, 5 – 15 years, $20,000
    • 100 kg or more: Felony, 10 years – Life*, $20,000
    • 500 plants or more: Felony, 10 years – Life*, $20,000
    • Within 2000 ft of a school or 1000 ft of public housing: Felony, 10 years – Life, $20,000
    • To a minor: Felony, 5 – 15 years, $20,000

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • SB 762: Legalization bill that allows personal use and cultivation and retail sale of marijuana for anyone over 21 years of age. It is currently in session, waiting to be heard and voted on.
  • HJR 57: This joint committee bill is a ballot initiative to ask voters in November to approve a constitutional amendment that would legalize marijuana for adults over 21 years of age.

Medical Marijuana: No


 

Montana

Montana

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • 60 g or less (1st Offense): Misdemeanor, 6 months, $500
    • 60 g or less (2nd): Misdemeanor, 3 years, $1,000
    • More than 60 g: Felony, 5 years, $50,000
  • Sale
    • Any amount with or without compensation: Felony, 1 year* – Life, $50,000
    • From an adult to a minor: Felony, 2 years*, $50,000
    • Within 1000 ft of school grounds: Felony, 3 years* – Life, $50,000
  • Cultivation
    • 1 lb or less or 30 plants or less: Felony, 10 years, $50,000
    • More than 1 lb or more than 30 plants: Felony, 2 years – Life, $50,000

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • The Montana Supreme Court nearly ended the legalization of medical marijuana in February when they revised it to only allow a provider to serve two patients meaning the state would have to get a ton of doctor’s in order to meet the demand otherwise users will have trouble obtaining it. The timing of when it will go into effect hasn’t been announced.

Medical Marijuana: Yes (1 oz usable, 4 mature plants, 12 seedlings)


 

Nebraska

Nebraska

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • 1 oz or less (1st Offense): Infraction, $300
    • 1 oz or less (2nd): Misdemeanor, $500
    • 1 oz or less (3rd): Misdemeanor, 7 days, $500
    • More than 1 oz – 1 lb: Misdemeanor, 3 months, $500
    • More than 1 lb: Felony, 5 years, $10,000
  • Sale
    • Any amount: Felony, 5 years, $25,000
    • To a minor within 1000 ft or a school or between 100 – 1000 ft of oter designated areas (1st): Felony, 1* – 50 years
    • Subsequent Offense to the above: Felony, 3 years* – Life

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • LB 643: In 2015, this medical marijuana legalization bill passed the Senate but didn’t make it after a cloture vote on April 5th of 2016. So folks will have to wait until 2017 to vote again.

Medical Marijuana: No


 

Nevada

Nevada

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • 1 oz or less (1st Offense): Misdemeanor, $600
    • 1 oz or less (2nd): Misdemeanor, $1,000
    • 1 oz or less (3rd): Misdemeanor, 365 days, $2,000
    • 1 oz or less (4th): Felony, 1* – 4 years, $5,000
  • Sale
    • Less than 100 lbs (1st Offense): Felony, 1* – 4 years, $5,000
    • Less than 100 lbs (2nd): Felony, 1* – 5 years, $10,000
    • Less than 100 lbs (Subsequent): Felony, 3* – 15 years, $20,000
    • 100 – less than 2000 lbs: Felony, 1* – 5 years, $25,000
    • 2000 – less than 10,000 lbs: Felony, 2* – 10 years, $50,000
    • 10,000 lbs or more: Felony, 5* – Life, $200,000
    • To a minor: Felony, 5* – Life, $20,000
  • Growing
    • 12 plants or more: Felony, 1* – 4 years, $5,000
    • 100 – less than 2000 lbs: Felony, 1* – 5 years, $25,000
    • 2000 – less than 10,000 lbs: Felony, 2* – 10 years, $50,000
    • 10,000 lbs or more: Felony, 5* – Life, $200,000
  • Other Laws
    • Knowingly maintaining a structure used for drug offenses: Felony, 1* – 6 years, $10,000
    • 100 – 2000 lbs: Civil Penalty, $350,000
    • 2000 – 10,000 lbs: Civil Penalty, $700,000
    • 10,000 lbs or more: Civil Penalty, $1,000,000

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • Initiative Petition 1: This would tax and regulate marijuana the same way alcohol is monitored in the state. It is scheduled to be on the ballot this upcoming November 8th.

Medical Marijuana: Yes (2.5 oz usable, 12 plants)


 

New Hampshire

New Hampshire

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • Any amount: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $2,000
  • Sale/Possession with Intent to Sell
    • Less than 1 oz (1st Offense): Felony, 3 years, $25,000
    • 1 oz – less than 5 lbs (1st): Felony, 7 years, $100,000
    • 5 lb or more (1st): Felony, 20 years, $300,000
    • Subsequent offenses or within 1000 ft of a school zone carries harsher penalites
  • Other Laws
    • Persons under 21 years will face a driver’s license suspension for 90 days – 1 year
    • Persons under 18 years will face a driver’s license suspension for 1 – 5 years

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • HB 1675 & HB 1610: Two bills that seek to permit the personal use of cannabis for both sale and cultivation.
  • HB 1631: This is a decriminalization bill that has already passed the house and is now being considered in the Senate Judiciary Committee.

Medical Marijuana: Yes (2 oz usable cannabis during 10-day period)


 

New Jersey

New Jersey

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • 50 g or less: Disorderly person, 6 months, $1,000
    • More than 50 g: Crime, 1.5 years, $25,000
  • Sale
    • Less than 1 oz: Crime, 1.5 years, $25,000
    • 1 oz – less than 5 lbs: Crime, 3* – 5 years, $25,000
    • 5 – less than 25 lbs: Crime, 5* – 10 years, $150,000
    • 25 lbs or more: Crime, 10* – 20 years, $300,000
    • Within 1000 ft of a school or school bus: Crime, 3* – 5 years, $150,000
  • Growing
    • 1 oz – less than 5 lbs (less than 10 plants): Crime, 3* – 5 years, $25,000
    • 5 – less than 25 lbs (10 – less than 50 plants): Crime, 5* – 10 years, $150,000
    • More than 25 lbs (50 plants or more): Crime, 10* – 20 years, $300,000
  • Other Laws
    • Failure to turn over marijuana to a police officer: Misdemeanor, 6 months, $1,000
    • Being under the influence of marijuana: Misdemeanor, 6 months, $1,000
    • Under 17 years, driving privileges shall be suspended between 6 months to 2 years

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • AB 2068: Another state that has another bill towards the legalization of marijuana is New Jersey and their AB 2068. The constituents of the state need to let lawmakers know where they stand on the legalization of weed in order for this to become law.

Medical Marijuana: Yes (2 oz usable)


 

New Mexico

New Mexico

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • 1 oz or less (1st Offense): Misdemeanor, 15 days, $100
    • 1 oz or less (2nd): Misdemeanor, 1 year, $1,000
    • More than 1 oz – less than 8 oz: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $1,000
    • 8 oz or more: Felony, 1.5 years, $5,000
  • Sale
    • 100 lbs or less (1st Offense): Felony, 1.5 years, $5,000
    • Less than 100 lbs or less (2nd): Felony, 3 years, $5,000
    • 100 lbs or more (1st Offense): Felony, 3 years, $5,000
    • 100 lbs or more (2nd): Felony, 9 years, $10,000
    • To a minor (1st): Felony, 3 years, $5,000
    • To a minor (2nd): Felony, 9 years, $10,000
    • Within a drug-free school zone: Felony, 18 years, $15,000
  • Transportation
  • Growing
    • Any amount (1st): Felony, 9 years, $10,000
    • Any amount (2nd): Felony, 18 years, $15,000
    • Within a drug-free school zone: Felony, 18 years, $15,000
  • Other Laws

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • HB 75: Rep.Bill McCamley’s Cannabis Revenue & Freedom Act which is for legalizing weed for the entire state.
  • SJR 5: This proposal is to ask voters whether they want to amend the constitution to allow adults over 21 years old to use marijuana recreationally while also adding a state imposed tax on the sale of it. It is making sure that if they legalize it, they will not lose any voters in the process.

Medical Marijuana: 6 oz usable, 16 plants (4 mature, 12 immature)



New York

New York

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • 25 g or less (1st Offense): $100
    • 25 g or less (2nd): $200
    • 25 g or less (3rd): 15 days, $250
    • More than 25 g – 2 oz: Misdemeanor, 3 months, $500
    • More than 2 – 8 oz: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $1,000
    • More than 8 oz – 1 lb: Felony, 4 years, $5,000
    • More than 1 – 10 lbs: Felony, 7 years, $5,000
    • More than 10 lbs: Felony, 15 years, $15,000
    • In public view: Misdemeanor, 90 days, $250
  • Sale
    • 2 g or less without profit or 1 marijuana cigarette: Misdemeanor, 3 months, $500
    • 25 g or less: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $1,000
    • More than 25 g – 4 oz: Felony, 4 years, $5,000
    • More than 4 oz – 1 lb: Felony, 7 years, $5,000
    • More than 1 lb: Felony, 15 years, $15,000
    • Using a child to assist: Felony, 4 years, $5,000
    • To a minor: Felony, 7 years, $5,000
  • Transportation
    • Any amount: Felony, 15* – 25 years, $100,000
  • Growing
    • Any amount: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $1,000

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • SB 1747 & AB 3089: Sen.Liz Krueger and Crystal Peoples-Stokes have introduced this bill to legalize the use of marijuana for the entire state. It will also allow anyone 18 years or older to grow up to six plants from home.

Medical Marijuana: Yes (30-day supply non-smokable marijuana)


 

North Carolina

North Carolina

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • 0.5 oz or less: Misdemeanor, $200
    • 0.5 – 1.5 oz: Misdemeanor, 45 days, $1,000
    • 1.5 oz – 10 lbs: Felony, 8 months, Discretionary Fine
    • Less than 10 lbs (w/ Intent to distribute): Felony, 8 months, Discretionary Fine
    • 10 – 50 lbs (w/ Intent to distribute): Felony, 25 – 39 months, $5,000
    • 50 – 2,000 lbs (w/ Intent to distribute): Felony, 35 – 51 months, $25,000
    • 2,000 – 10,000 lbs (w/ Intent to distribute): Felony, 70 – 93 months, $50,000
    • 10,000 lbs or more (w/ Intent to distribute): Felony, 175 – 222 months, $200,000
  • Sale
    • Less than 10 lbs: Felony, 4 – 8 months, Discretionary Fine
    • 10 – 50 lbs: Felony, 25 – 30 months, $5,000
    • 50 – 2,000 lbs: Felony, 35 -42 months, $25,000
    • 2,000 – 10,000 lbs: Felony, 70 – 80 months, $50,000
    • More than 10,000 lbs: Felony, 175 – 219 months, $200,000
  • Growing
    • 10 – 50 lbs: Felony, 25 – 30 months, $5,000
    • 50 – 2,000 lbs: Felony, 35 -42 months, $25,000
    • 2,000 – 10,000 lbs: Felony, 70 – 80 months, $50,000
    • 10,000 lbs or more: Felony, 175 – 219 months, $200,000
  • Other Laws

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • HB 78: This was a bill that would have legalized medical marijuana in the state but it was voted against by the House Judiciary Committee.

Medical Marijuana: No (However, Medical CBD is legal)


 

North Dakota

North Dakota

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • 1 oz or less: Misdemeanor, 30 days, $1,500
    • More than 1 oz – 500 g: Felony, 5 days, $10,000
    • More than 500 g: Felony, 10 years, $20,000
    • Any amount within 1000 ft of a school: Felony, 10 years, $20,000
  • Sale
    • Any amount: Felony, 3* – 10 years, $20,000
    • Using a minor: Felony, 10 years, $20,000
    • Any amount within 1000 ft of a school: Felony, 20 years, $20,000

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • HB 1430: This bill was for the legalization of medical marijuana but it failed in the House and now will have to wait until 2017 before being looked at again.

Medical Marijuana: No


 

Ohio

Ohio

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
  • Sale/Distribution/Trafficking
    • A gift of 20 g or less (1st Offense): Misdemeanor, $150
    • A gift of 20 g or less (2nd): Misdemeanor, 60 days, $500
    • Less than 200 g: Felony, 1 year, $2,500
    • 200 – 1,000 g: Felony, 18 months, $2,500
    • 1,000 – 20,000 g: Felony, 1 – 5 years, $10,000
    • 20,000 – 40,000 g: Felony, 5* – 8 years, $15,000
    • More than 40,000 g: Felony, 8 years*, $20,000
  • Other Laws
    • Any conviction may result in driver’s license suspension between 6 months – 5 years

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • Ohioans for Medical Marijuana (OMM): The OMM are working to pass a ballot initiative for medical marijuana legalization for the upcoming November 2016 election. They need at least 305,591 valid signatures to make it.

Medical Marijuana: No


 

Oklahoma

Oklahoma

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • Any amount (1st Offense): 1 year
    • Any amount (Subsequent): Felony, 2 – 10 years
  • Sale
    • Less than 25 lbs: Felony, 2 years – Life, $20,000
    • 25 – 1,000 lbs: Felony, 4 years – Life, $100,000
    • 1,000 lbs or more: Felony, 4 years – Life, $500,000
    • To a minor: Double period of jail time and fine.

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • HB 2835: Expands the medical conditions that qualify for use of the high-CBD oils.
  • HB 2351: Allows minors with any serious medical condition to use high-CBD oils.

Medical Marijuana: No (However, Medical CBD is legal)



Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • 30 g or less: Misdemeanor, 30 days, $500
    • More than 30 g: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $5,000
  • Sale
    • 30 g ore less for no remuneration: Misdemeanor, 30 days, $500
    • 2 – 10 lbs: Felony, 1 year, $5,000
    • 10 – 50 lbs: Felony, 3 years, $25,000
    • Less than 1,000 lbs: Felony, 3 years, $25,000
    • More than 1,000 lbs: Felony, 10 years, $100,000
    • Within 1000 ft of a school or within 250 ft of recreational playground punishable by 2 – 4 years in prison
    • To a minor doubles the penalty
  • Growing
    • Any number of plants: Felony, 1 – 5 years, $15,000

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • SB 528: This bill would allow adults to use cannabis for recreational use and retail sale.
  • SB 3: This medical marijuana bill passed the Senate and House and is now waiting on the Senate to consider any changes before the Governor will sign it into law. This one should be law soon.

Medical Marijuana: No


 

Rhode Island

Rhode Island

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • Less than 1 oz (Personal Use): Civil Violation, $150
    • 1 0z – 1 kg (Personal Use): Misdemeanor, 1 year, $500
    • 1 – 5 kg (w/ Intent to distribute): Felony, 10* – 50 years, $500,000
    • More than 5 kg (w/ Intent to distribute): Felony, 25 years* – Life, $100,000
    • Within 300 yards of a school may result in Double penalties
  • Sale/Cultivation
    • Less than 1 kg: Felony, 30 years, $100,000
    • 1 – 5 kg: Felony, 10* – 50 years, $500,000
    • More than 5 kg: Felony, 20 years* – Life, $10,000
    • To a minor at least three years younger: Felony, 2 – 5 years, $100,000
  • Other Laws
    • Possession while driving will result in a 6 month suspension on your driver’s license.

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • SB 2420: The Marijuana Regulation, Control, and Taxation Act would legalize marijuana in the state for adults over 21 years old. It will allow each adult to possess up to one ounce of weed at a time and grow up to two plants from home.

Medical Marijuana: Yes (2.5 oz usable, 12 plants)


 

South Carolina

South Carolina

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • 1 oz or less (1st Offense): Misdemeanor, 30 days, $200
    • 1 oz or less (Subsequent): Misdemeanor, 1 year, $2,000
  • Sale/Trafficking
    • Less than 10 lbs: Felony, 5 years, $5,000
    • 10 – 100 lbs (1st): Felony, 1* – 10 years, $10,000
    • 10 – 100 lbs (2nd): Felony, 5* – 20 years, $25,000
    • 10 – 100 lbs (3rd): Felony, 25 years*, $25,000
    • 100 – 2,000 lbs: Felony, 25 years*, $25,000
    • 2,000 – 10,000 lbs: Felony, 25 years*, $50,000
    • More than 10,000 lbs: Felony, 25 years*, $200,000
    • To a minor, or within a 1/2 mile of a school, playground, or public park: Felony, 10 years, $10,000
  • Growing
    • Less than 100 plants: Felony, 5 years, $5,000
    • 100 – 1,000 plants: Felony, 25 years*, $25,000
    • 1,000 – 10,000 plants: Felony, 25 years*, $50,000
    • More than 10,000 plants: Felony, 25 years*, $200,000

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • HB 4037 & SB 672: The step towards legalizing medical marijuana passed with this bill but the companion bill, SB 672, was rejected in committee.

Medical Marijuana: No (However, Medical CBD is legal)


 

South Dakota

South Dakota

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • 2 oz or less: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $2,000
    • 2 0z – 1/2 lb: Felony, 1 year, $4,000
    • 1/2 – 1 lb: Felony, 5 years, $10,000
    • 1 – 10 lbs: Felony, 10 years, $20,000
    • More than 10 lbs: Felony, 15 years, $30,000
  • Sale
    • Less than 1/2 oz: Misdemeanor, 15 days* – 1 year, $2,000
    • 1/2 – 1 oz: Felony, 2 years, $4,000
    • 1 oz – 1/2 lb: Felony, 5 years, $10,000
    • 1/2 – 1 lb: Felony, 10 years, $20,000
    • More than 1 lb: Felony, 15 years, $30,000
    • Within 1000 ft or a school or 500 ft of other disignated areas: 5 years*, $10,000
  • Other Laws
    • Inhabiting a room where marijuana is being used or stored: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $2,000

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • SB 171: Is a medical marijuana bill that could legalize the use of cannabis for patients with specific ailments. The hearing for this bill was on February 17th of 2016.

Medical Marijuana


 

Tennessee

Tennessee

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • 1/2 oz or less (1st Offense): Misdemeanor, 1 year, $250
    • 1/2 oz or less (2nd): Misdemeanor, 1 year, $500
    • 1/2 oz or less (3rd): Felony, 1 – 6 years, $1,000
  • Sale
    • 1/2 oz – 10 lbs: Felony, 1 – 6 years, $5,000
    • 10 – 70 lbs: Felony, 2 – 12 years, $50,000
    • 70 – 300 lbs: Felony, 8 – 30 years, $10,000
    • More than 300 lbs: Felony, 15 – 60 years, $200,000
  • Growing
    • 10 plants or less: Felony, 1 – 6 years, $5,000
    • 10 – 19 plants: Felony, 2 – 12 years, $50,000
    • 20 – 99 plants: Felony, 3 – 15 years, $100,000
    • 100 – 499 plants: Felony, 8 – 30 years, $200,000
    • More than 500 plants: Felony, 15 – 60 years, $500,000
  • Other Laws
    • Falsification of drug tests: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $2,500

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • Nothing currently being proposed that could legalize marijuana in the near future.

Medical Marijuana: No (However, Medical CBD is legal)



Texas

Texas

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • 2 oz or less: Misdemeanor, 180 days, $2,000
    • 2 – 4 oz: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $4,000
    • 4 oz – 5 lbs: Felony, 180 days* – 2 years, $10,000
    • 5 – 50 lbs: Felony, 2* – 10 years, $10,000
    • 50 – 2,000 lbs: Felony, 2* – 20 years, $10,000
    • More than 2,000 lbs: Felony, 5* – 99 years, $50,000
  • Sale
    • 7 g or less for no remuneration: Misdemeanor, 180 days, $2,000
    • 7 g or less: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $4,000
    • 7 g – 5 lbs: Felony, 180 days* – 2 years, $10,000
    • 5 – 50 lbs: Felony, 2* – 20 years, $10,000
    • 50 – 2,000 lbs: Felony, 5* – 99 years, $10,000
    • More than 2,000 lbs: Felony, 10* – 99 years, $100,000
    • To a minor: Felony, 2* – 20 years, $10,000
  • Other Laws
    • Falsifying a drug test: Misdemeanor, 180 days, $2,000
    • Driver’s license is suspended on final conviction of a drug offense.

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • Nothing that could legalize recreational use of marijuana but they are heading in the right direction with the recent legalization of medical marijuana for epileptic patients by 2017.

Medical Marijuana: Yes, with several restrictions including the patients that qualify for it.


 

Utah

Utah

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • Less than 1 oz: Misdemeanor, 6 months, $1,000
    • 1 oz – 1 lb: Misdemeanor, 1 year, $2,500
    • 1 – 100 lbs: Felony, 5 years, $5,000
    • More than 100 lbs: Felony, 1 – 15 years, $10,000
  • Sale
    • Any amount: Felony, 5 years, $5,000
  • Other Laws
    • Any conviction will result in a 6 month driver’s license suspension

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • SB 73: Sen.Mark Madsen’s bill was voted down and now Utah residents will have to wait for a ballot initiative that would add a vote on legalizing medical marijuana to the November ballot.

Medical Marijuana: No


 

Vermont

Vermont

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • 1 oz or less (1st Offense, Over 21 years old): Civil Violation, $200
    • 1 oz or less (2nd, Over 21 years old): Civil Violation, $300
    • 1 oz or less (Subsequent, Over 21 years old): Civil Violation, $500
    • 1 – 2 oz (1st): Misdemeanor, 6 months, $500
    • 2 oz – 1 lb: Felony, 3 years, $10,000
    • 1 – 10 lbs: Felony, 5 years, $100,000
    • 10 lbs or more: Felony, 15 years, $500,000
  • Sale
    • Less than 1/2 oz: Misdemeanor, 2 years, $10,000
    • 1/2 oz – 1 lb: Felony, 5 years, $100,000
    • 1 – 50 lbs: Felony, 15 years, $500,000
    • More than 50 lbs: Felony, 30 years, $1,000,000
    • To a minor: Felony, 5 years, $25,000
  • Growing
    • 1 – 2 plants (1st): Misdemeanor, 6 months, $500
    • 1 – 2 plants (Subsequent): Misdemeanor, 2 years, $2,000
    • 3 – 10 plants: Felony, 3 years, $10,000
    • 11 – 25 plants: Felony, 5 years, $100,000
    • More than 25 plants: Felony, 15 years, $500,000

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • SB 241:  This bill will help regulate the adult use, production, and sale of cannabis and is currently on the House Judiciary Committee’s agenda as well as the House Committee on Education.

Medical Marijuana: 2 oz usable, 9 plants (2 mature, 7 immature)


 

Virginia

Virginia

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • Less than 1/2 oz (1st Offense): Misdemeanor, 30 days, $500
    • Less than 1/2 oz (Subsequent): Misdemeanor, 1 year, $2,500
  • Sale/Manufacture/Trafficking
    • 1/2 oz – 5 lbs: Felony, 1* – 10 years, $2,500
    • 5 lbs – 100 kg: Felony, 5* – 30 years, $1,000
    • More than 100 kg: Felony, 20 years* – Life, $100,000
    • To a minor who is at least 3 years younger: Felony, 2* – 50 years, $100,000
    • Within 1000 ft of a school or school bus stop: Felony, 1* – 5 years, $100,000
    • Manufacture of marijuana: Felony, 5* – 30 years, $10,000
    • Transporting more than 5 lbs into the state: Felony, 5* – 40 years, $1,000,000
  • Other Laws
    • Maintaining a fortified drug house: Felony, 1* – 10 years
    • Convicted persons will have driver’s license suspended for 6 months

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • SB 701: This is a bill for the legalization of cannabis oil and has been sent to Gov. Terry McAuliffe. It is very limited but as the others have shown, it is progress for the legalization of marijuana.

Medical Marijuana: No (However, Medical CBD is legal)


 

West Virginia

West Virginia

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • Any amount: Misdemeanor, 90 days* – 6 months, $1,000
  • Sale
    • Any amount: Felony, 1* – 5 years, $15,000
    • Trafficking marijuana into state: 1* – 5 years, $15,000
    • To a minor within 1,000 ft of a school: 2 years*

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • SB 640: A medical marijuana legalization bill created by Sen.Jeff Kessler, Sen.Mitch Carmichael, and three other Senators that is currently being introduced into legislation.

Medical Marijuana: No


 

Wisconsin

Wisconsin

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • Any amount (1st Offense): Misdemeanor, 6 months, $1,000
    • Any amount (Subsequent): Felony, 3.5 years, $10,000
  • Sale
    • 200 g or less: Felony, 3.5 years, $10,000
    • 200 – 1,000 g: Felony, 6 years, $10,000
    • 1,000 – 2,500 g: Felony, 10 years, $25,000
    • 2,500 – 10,000 g: Felony, 12.5 years, $25,000
    • More than 10,000 g: Felony, 15 years, $50,000
  • Growing
    • 4 plants or fewer: Felony, 3.5 years, $10,000
    • 4 – 20 plants: Felony, 6 years, $10,000
    • 20 – 50 plants: Felony, 10 years, $25,000
    • 50 – 200 plants: Felony, 12.5 years, $25,000
    • More than 200 plants: Felony, 15 years, $50,000

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • AB 224: Rep.Melissa Sargent’s bill which is about regulating the production of marijuana by controlling the sale and cultivation of it through legitimate businesses for sale to adults over 21. (Similar to what Oregon, Colorado, Washington, and Alaska now have in place)
  • AB 246: Lessen’s the criminal penalty for possession of less than 25 grams.

Medical Marijuana: No (However, Medical CBD is legal)


 

Wyoming

Wyoming

Legality (Penalty, Jail Time, Max. Fine)

  • Possession
    • Persons under the influence: Misdemeanor, 6 months, $750
    • 3 oz or less: Misdemeanor, 12 months, $1,000
    • More than 3 oz: Felony, 5 years, $10,000
  • Sale
    • Any amount: Felony, 10 years, $10,000
  • Growing
    • Any amount: Misdemeanor, 6 months, $1,000

Steps Towards Legalizing Cannibis

  • A recent initiative that was going to make the ballot in 2016 and have voters vote on whether or not to legalize marijuana for recreational use did not make it this year but plans on having it added within a couple more years after the legalization of medical marijuana.

Medical Marijuana: No (However, Medical CBD is legal)

*Mandatory Min. and Fine