For the in-season tournament, the NBA is focused on 30-team participation that begins with a divisional group stage of scheduled regular-season games.

Those pre-knockout-round games would be part of the regular-season schedule. Six divisional winners — based on home and road records in the group stage — and the two teams with the next-best records would advance to a single-elimination knockout round, league sources said.


The NBA needs two-thirds of the teams (23) and NBPA to agree to the calendar changes, which commissioner Adam Silver hopes would begin with the league’s 75th anniversary season in the 2021-22 season