- The Maryland Terps faced the UConn Huskies in an elimination game of the College Park Regional on Monday where the winner advanced to the Super Regional
- Maryland’s Chris Alleyne hit a dribbler down the first base line and then got called out for interference in the worst call in NCAA history
- Read more BASEBALL articles here
The Maryland Terps fell to the UConn Huskies 8-11 on Monday night in an elimination game of the College Park Regional. UConn now moves onto the Super Regionals while Maryland Baseball will be left fuming for months over one of the worst game-changing calls in recent memory.
In the top of the 8th inning, Maryland Baseball was trailing UConn 8-10. The Terps had a runner on 3rd base and only one out when center fielder Chris Alleyne hit a dribbler down the first base line.
This would’ve easily sent the runner home to score a run and get the game within 1 as the pitcher chased the ball down the first base line and tossed it to 1B for an easy out. Except the umpire then made the worst call in NCAA baseball history and called Interference on the runner.
This Interference Called Against Maryland Baseball Might Be The Worst Call In NCAA History…
The umpire called the runner out in the Maryland vs. UConn game. HOW!?
— Brad Galli (@BradGalli) June 7, 2022
There is literally nowhere else for the runner to go. He has to run through the base. That is his job. Does the umpire think it’s a required pickle situation because that’s straight-up poppycock and hogwash?! Chris Alleyne’s only job here was to go full speed through the base.
Every sports fan has convinced themselves at some point that the refs are out to get their team because of blatantly bad calls. This happens a lot in professional sports when a ‘big market team’ is losing to a smaller market team (that’s better) and fans are convinced there’s some sort of conspiracy at play.
Let’s see what the fans are saying…
That call in the Maryland game is potentially the worst call I’ve ever seen on a baseball field
— Morgan McSweeney (@MoMcSweeney35) June 7, 2022
Apparently it's the Big Ten vs. NCAA umps today.
— Hoover Street Rag (@hooverstreet) June 7, 2022
If the runner was in his lane, you have a case, but he wasn’t.
— Ben Fox (@benjfox) June 7, 2022
Maryland v UConn just witnessed the worst call in the history of baseball
— Nick Parente (@ParenteNick) June 7, 2022
There are lots of UConn fans on Twitter saying the runner wasn’t in his lane because he was running down the line…
Gotta run in the box. That’s why its there.
— mike p huetteman (@m27guy) June 7, 2022
if I was Maryland I would have simply not committed interference
— The UConn Blog (@TheUConnBlog) June 7, 2022
What the NCAA 2-51 Interference rule that went against Maryland Baseball actually says…
This is the rule: “SECTION 51. The act of an offensive player, umpire or nongame person who interferes with; physically or verbally hinders; confuses; or impedes any fielder attempting to make a play.”
The number of people on Twitter arguing that the other side doesn’t know the rules and this was clearly interference is actually insane. Read the rule. Read it again. Then read it one more time…
Did the offensive player impede the fielder from making a play? No. He did not. He ran up the line and through the base. The UConn first baseman is crowding the base. There is no way the runner could’ve gone around him and avoided a collision.