Late in the fourth quarter in the Lions-Seahawks game, Calvin Johnson fumbled the ball in the end zone. After the fumble, Seahawks KJ Wright knocked the ball out of the end zone to cause a touchback. It turns out what Wright did was illegal and instead of the Seahawks getting the ball and running out the clock, the Lions should have gotten the ball at the goal line.
Watch as former NFL referee Gerry Austin explains.
Here's the rule that states Seattle illegally batted the ball and Detroit should have had 1st-and-goal. pic.twitter.com/GS3DVVfr4L
— SportsCenter (@SportsCenter) October 6, 2015
NFL VP of Officiating Dean Blandino agrees with Austin and says the Lions should have gotten the ball.
NFL VP of Officiating Dean Blandino comments on the Lions-Seahawks ending. http://t.co/BO90lIlUl8
— NFL (@NFL) October 6, 2015
This is terrible by the refs and it cost the Lions a game. Amazing.