Facebook Testing New ‘Snooze’ Button So You Don’t Have To See 1,000 Baby Photos

By 09.16.17
how see information facebook has you

pixinoo / Shutterstock.com


Maybe one of your sorta kinda friends recently had a baby and you Liked the first couple photos of the brand new bundle of joy. They are excited with their adorable new edition and so they post photos of their baby on Facebook. And more photos of their baby. And more photos of their baby. And more photos of their baby. You already liked a few of their photos so Facebook thinks you want to see more of the baby, so they push it to the top of your feed. But after 37 baby pics you have baby fatigue and wouldn’t like to be inundated with baby pics. You don’t want to unfriend your acquaintance, but you just want to give it a rest while they go through their new baby stage. Facebook is testing a new “snooze” button that will allow you to temporarily mute people who may be oversharing at one particular time.

Facebook is testing a “snooze” button that allows users to temporarily unfollow individuals, pages, and groups for periods of 24 hours, a week, or 30 days. Right now the blocking feature is only available to a limited few Facebook users. To freeze out friends, you tap the drop down menu in the top right corner of their post. There will be an “Unfollow” and a “Snooze” option.


“We’re testing new ways to give people control over their News Feeds so they can stay connected with the stories they find most relevant,” a Facebook spokesperson told TechCrunch.

Keep your Facebook sanity and your friends with this helpful feature.

[Mashable]


Join The Discussion