Weird Rule Forces College Golfer To Go Into Pond After He Accidentally Dropped His Ball In The Water

by 11 months ago

The rules of golf clearly state that a player must finish the hole with the same ball to avoid a two-stroke penalty. There is no flexibility in that rule. If you, for some reason, lose your ball, you better find it or you better be ready to take that penalty.

Jacksonville University senior David Wicks learned that rule the hard way during the NCAA Regionals in Baton Rouge, LA. While Wicks was waiting his turn to attempt a three-foot par putt he accidentally dropped his ball into the water. WHOOPSIE! Rather than taking the two-stroke penalty, Wicks stripped down to his underwear and went fishing for his ball.

Here’s how it went down.

Here’s the video.

Former LSU player Smilyie Kaufman even chimed in.

You know, it’s stuff like this, and stuff like this alone, that is the only shit keeping me from playing professional golf. Absolutely nothing else holding me back. Just all this rules red tape keeping me from being a national hero.

[H/T Ryan Lavner]

TAGScollege golfGolf

Join The Discussion