Concerning Video Shows HS Softball Catcher Pelting Hitters In The Head With The Ball: ‘Is She Doing It On Purpose?’

A softball sits on the infield clay.


A concerning video of a high school softball game is making its way around social media. The clip shows a catcher hitting opposing batters in the head with throws to third base.

The player was caught on camera doing this multiple times throughout the game, leading many to believe that she was throwing at the hitters purposely. Viewers were quick to react to the incident online.

The odd occurrence happened in a matchup between McCamey High and Cicso High in Texas.

The two foes were battling in a playoff contest, and it’s sparked a debate about player safety, sportsmanship, and coaching.

In the first instance, the McCamey Lady Badgers catcher pops up from her squatting position after receiving a pitch. She then attempts to make a quick snap throw down to third base in order to catch a runner sleeping.

The bases were loaded at the time.

That throw wound up smacking the batter in the head, never making its way to the catcher’s McCamey teammate. But was she really trying to pick the runner off or was she aiming at the hitter on purpose?

The crowd reaction appears to suggest the latter.

After the ball ricocheted off the batter’s helmet, many in the audience immediately yelled, “She’s out! She’s outside the batter’s box.”

According to the softball rulebook, they could be right.

Umpire Bible shows one definition of batter’s interference.

“Well, the wording of 6.03(a)(3) is important here: The batter is out if (s)he “… interferes with the catcher’s fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter’s box or making any other movement that hinders the catcher’s play at home base.” As directives go, you can’t get much broader than “any other movement.” Batter beware.”

So, is the McCamey catcher looking to see if the hitter steps out of the batter’s box then intentionally belting them in the head with the ball?

A second occurrence of the act would suggest so.

Further confirmation seems to come from a previous playoff matchup where this happened twice to another one of McCamey’s opponents. In at least one case, the Lady Badgers were awarded an out.

Followers who saw these clips on social media were quick to comment. Here’s what they had to say.

One person wrote, “This is clearly intentional by the player and team. Look at her throwing angle. It was intentionally pointed straight at the batter. That throw would have went into the dugout if she didn’t hit the batter.”

Another viewer was worried about player safety, saying, “That was worse than if she had thrown a haymaker,” which we recently saw in the handshake line of a high school baseball game in Oklahoma.

This fan insinuated that she’s being coached to do this, posting, “Coach may be trying to get catcher to draw batter’s interference for free outs, safety first though.”

That certainly seems to be the case.

While getting free outs may be a way to gain an advantage, purposely throwing at an opponent’s head or face is never a way to win over a crowd.

The video is reportedly being looked into by the University Interscholastic League.

Jacob Elsey
BroBible writer. Jacob is a graduate of the University of South Carolina and is based in Charleston, SC.