Texas Softball Trolls NCAA For Bad Obstruction Rule After Game-Winning Hit On Failed Intentional Walk

Texas softball player argues obstruction call

© Brett Rojo-Imagn Images


Carbonatix Pre-Player Loader

Audio By Carbonatix

The Texas softball team won Game 1 of the Women’s College World Series on Wednesday night against rival Texas Tech. The Longhorns did so in dramatic fashion after being wronged.

The NCAA’s awful obstruction rule came into play. Texas wound up on the losing side of a bad call. In the end, it didn’t matter.

The drama started in the fifth inning of play with both teams scoreless. A Red Raiders baserunner was thrown out by catcher Reese Atwood while trying to steal second. The throw beat her by a mile!

Texas Tech challenged the play after the fact. Umpires ruled that the Longhorn defender had violated softball’s obstruction rule.

The definition is laid out in NCAA handbook Rule 9.5. It reads as follows:

Obstruction occurs when a defensive player, neither in possession of the ball nor in the act of fielding a batted ball, impedes a batter’s attempt to make contact with a pitch or impedes the progress of any runner who is legally running bases on a live ball. It can be intentional or unintentional.

Obstruction can be called if the defensive player does not have possession of the ball, and she:

  1. Blocks any part of the leading edge of first, second or third base or home plate (as defined); or
  2. Otherwise blocks the runner from advancing or returning to a base.

The rule is in place to prevent defenders from blocking access to the bag without having the ball. It gives runners a lane, which decreases the possibility of a collision. The intention of the rule is perfectly fine. The interpretation needs changing.

In this case, Atwood’s throw led her teammate ever-so-slightly into the basepath. According to the rule, she needed to catch the ball before planting her foot in the path and making her tag. That’s much easier said than done.

The Texas defender’s position had no impact on the play. She did not impede the runner. Still, umpires reversed the ruling and gave Texas Tech the base.

Two batters later, the Red Raiders took the lead on an RBI single. Luckily, it wouldn’t cost the Longhorns.

Texas softball’s Reese Atwood called game.

Atwood got her revenge soon after the obstruction call. In the sixth inning, the Red Raiders attempted to intentionally walk her. With a 3-0 count, she took advantage of a pitch that was too close to the zone.

Texas Tech’s $1 million pitcher NiJaree Canady left one out over the plate while attempting to issue the free pass. Atwood sent it to leftfield for a two-run base hit. Ball don’t lie!

Texas subsequently trolled with the caption on its social media highlight. “After review, this pitch was obstructed by Reese Atwood’s bat,” the post read.

The single was Atwood’s first hit of the Women’s College World Series. She entered the at-bat 0-for-10 in Oklahoma City. The Longhorns grabbed a 2-1 lead and never looked back. Canady took full blame for the loss.

“I made that mistake,” she said in her postgame presser. “That loss is on me, and I want to apologize to my teammates.”

Atwood, meanwhile, celebrated. Texas took a 1-0 lead in the three-game series. They can bring home a national championship with one more win.