Fans Question If Wyndham Clark Should’ve Been Penalized During His US Open Win

Wyndham Clark shoots a shot from the bunker at the US Open.

Getty Image

Wyndham Clark had the weekend of a lifetime as he won the US Open by a stroke over Rory McIlroy. It was the 29-year-old’s first major tournament win, and his second victory on the PGA Tour this season.

Some, however, are questioning whether or not Clark should’ve been penalized during the action on Sunday, which could’ve significantly impacted the final scoring.

The shot in question came on the back nine as he attempted to line up a play from the rough. As he placed his club in the tall grass behind the ball, some believe the ball actually moved.

We’ll let you be the judge.

According to the rulebook, if the ball changes position, a penalty is warranted.

Fans seem split on whether or not Wyndham Clark should’ve been assessed that punishment.

One person wrote, “Stop. Nothing moved except your imagination,” while another said, “You’re grasping for straws.”

Someone else commented, “It clearly did a nudge.”

Many attempted to break down the rule, with this fan posting, “The ball merely oscillates, it doesn’t change position in the grass.”

While the act seems inconsequential enough, we’ve seen similar penalties handed down before.

The USGA did not respond to the clip. Wyndham Clark won the US Open with a final score of -10.