NFL Rules Analyst Believes Refs Missed Helmet-To-Helmet Penalty On Chiefs During Crucial Browns Turnover

There’s some controversy brewing in the Chiefs-Browns game.

Before the end of the first half, the Cleveland Browns were inches away from scoring a touchdown until Chiefs safety Daniel Sorensen was able to somehow cause Rashard Higgins to fumble the ball out of the end zone which was eventually ruled a touchback.

CBS rules analyst Gene Steratore looked at the play and believes the refs missed a helmet-to-helmet penalty on the Chiefs after Sorensen led with his helmet to hit Higgins.

It’s not an easy play to officiate in real time especially when you’re dealing with that football, the pylon, the goal line and a fumble. By rule, that’s illegal use of the helmet, I believe.

Browns fans were irate with the non-call.