The PAC-12 Sure Seems Worried About The College Football Playoff Expanding, Should Be Embarrassed

pac 12 college football playoff expansion

Getty Image

  • The College Football Playoff will inevitably expand its field sooner rather than later, and the PAC-12 legitimately seems nervous.
  • The PAC-12 seems to be worried about non-power five conferences instead of its own.
  • Check out more sports coverage at BroBible here.

The College Football Playoff field is going to be expanded sooner rather than later and while the majority of the college football world is on board with the change, the PAC-12 sounds like it’s legitimately nervous about the move.

Earlier this month, the College Football Playoff Working Group officially proposed a 12-team Playoff field which would add eight teams to the mix as soon as 2023. The new-look field would be made up of the six highest-ranked conference champions and six at-large teams picked by the committee.

Reports have suggested that the four highest-ranked conference champions would receive a first-round bye. Teams 5-12 would play each other in the first round on the home field of the higher-ranked team.

This is great news for non-power five programs and should theoretically not have too big of an effect on Power Five teams, but the PAC-12 doesn’t sound like it sees it that way.

PAC-12 commissioner Larry Scott, who already has one foot out the door, released a statement explaining that “The PAC-12 supports expansion of the CFP and believes that the (Power Five) champions should annually qualify for the CFP.”

What Scott really meant here is that the conference doesn’t think its champion will consistently finish among the top six highest-ranked conference champions therefore the conference would have to hope for an at-large bid.

The PAC-12 is legitimately concerned about its champion having a weaker resume than the conference champ out of the Mountain West or American Athletic Conference.

I guess you can’t blame the PAC-12 for being worried about that scenario playing out. The conference has only had two teams be selected for the CFB Playoff field since its inaugural season in 2014-15.